Alfred Dunhill Championship Past Winners & Results By Year

Not to be confused with the long-running Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, this similarly titled tournament takes place in November/December each year, at the Leopard Creek Country Club in South Africa. Having previously sponsored the South African PGA Championship, Alfred Dunhill severed ties with that event in 1999, with this tournament making its debut one year later in 2000. One of the two biggest events on the South African Sunshine Tour, the Alfred Dunhill Championship has been co-sanctioned by the European Tour (now DP World Tour) since 2004.

Originally held at the Houghton course, the tournament relocated to the Leopard Creek Country Club on the borders of the Kruger National Park in 2005. If you like a spot of wildlife to go with your golf, this may well be one of your favourite events of the year, with the sight of lions roaring and hippopotami cavorting in the water being standard fare for this beautiful course. Charl Schwartzel is one player who doesn’t let a few lions or the perils of Crocodile River distract him, with the South African native impressively winning this event three times in the space of just four years between 2012 and 2015.

Past Winners

Year Course Winner
2022 Leopard Creek Country Club Ockie Strydom

2022: Ockie Strydom

South African Ockie Strydom has had to wait longer than many for a maiden success on the DP World Tour, but that moment finally arrived at the Leopard Creek Country Club, as the 37-year-old emerged two shots clear of the field, claiming the trophy and €255,000 in first place prize money.

Following solid opening rounds of 68 and 70, Strydom did most of the damage with an excellent 63 on Day 3 to move into a share of the lead moving into Sunday. Just about holding it together on a front nine which included two birdies, a bogey and a double bogey, Strydom then found his consistency at just the right time to birdie four of the back nine and seal the deal.

A four-under-par final round was good enough for second for Adrian Otaegui of Spain, whilst the late charge of Englishman Laurie Canter – who posted a closing 64 – propelled him into third place.