Canary Islands Championship Betting Tips & Results

The Canary Islands Championship is a one-off golf tournament held for the first and possibly only time in 2021. The competition is the final of three events dubbed the Canary Islands Swing, foll0wing on from the Gran Canaria Open and the Tenerife Open.

The host course is the Golf Costa Adeje which held the 1999 BMW Golf Cup International World Final and the 2003 Open de Espana.

Betting Tips for 6th to 9th May 2021

The Canary Islands Championship finishes off an enjoyable three weeks in the Canaries for the European Tour. The last two tournaments – the Gran Canaria Open and Tenerife Open – went the way of Garrick Higgo and Dean Burmester respectively and they top the betting this week.

Higgo and Burmester have felt a sense of familiarity in the Canary Islands with the presence of Kikuyu grass and other natural features reminding them of playing golf in their native South Africa. Justin Harding is another South African who has taken to the Canary Islands. His finishes of 15th and 12th are certainly promising as the European Tour returns to Golf Costa Adeje for the second week running. He was just unable to hang with the power scoring of Burmester and the other leaders but knows exactly where he can pick up shots this week and warrants respect at 20/1.

In normal circumstances, Eddie Pepperell would have flown home from Tenerife cursing himself for only working out how to score at Golf Costa Adeje on Sunday. Despite things getting better for many around the world, circumstances remain anything but normal still, and Pepperell has the chance to build on his final round of 65 this week. Only one of his rounds last week was in the 70s and yet he only finished in a tie for 33rd so Pepperell knows he must start strongly and maintain relentless low scoring. He’s more than capable of doing just that so looks a solid each way option at truly massive odds of 50/1.