ISPS Handa Championship Past Winners & Results By Year

The year 2022 saw a couple of late additions to the DP World Tour schedule following the postponement of the Volvo China Open and the removal from the DP roster of the ISPS Handa Championship in Japan. Two new events were swiftly added to the calendar, with the Catalunya Open replacing the Volvo Masters, and this tournament stepping in to replace the similarly named Japanese tournament.

Held in April, one week before the Catalunya Masters, this event also took place in the North East of Spain at the beautiful Costa Dorada Infinitum Resort. At the time of its introduction, the tournament was expected to act as a one-off event and duly disappeared from the DP World Tour programme in 2023. Given the picturesque surroundings of the La Sèquia Major Wetlands and the scoring-friendly layout, many players would likely be pleased to see the event appear with greater regularity in the future – particularly Pablo Larrazábal who saw off fellow Spaniard Adrián Otaegui to win the 2022 edition by one shot.

Past Winners

Year Course Winner
2022 Infinitum Golf Pablo Larrazabal

2022: Pablo Larrazabal

Spanish golf fans were delighted with the news that the 2022 ISPS Handa Championship was moved to Infinitum Golf after it became clear the tournament could not take place in Japan as scheduled. That delight faded somewhat due to the weather in Tarragona. Heavy rain meant the tournament was stop-start in the early rounds but the hardy Spanish fans were ultimately rewarded as Pablo Larrazabal earned his first DP World Tour win on home soil.

Larrazabal, like the fans, found the going difficult in the early stages of the tournament. He plugged on though and gave himself an outside chance of victory in the final round which began with him in sixth place. He knew that he would have to go seriously low to win as he had a deficit to make up while scoring was sure to be low on a receptive golf course. What he didn’t know was that he had a sensational round of 62 in the locker.

It was an incredible run of five birdies around the turn that transformed a good round into a great one, one good enough to deliver the trophy. Everybody else in contention knew what Larrazabal was doing, but nobody could match the score he was producing, including overnight leader Adrian Otageui, who fell just one shot short of forcing a playoff.