MyGolfLife Open Past Winners & Results By Year

Co-sanctioned by the DP World Tour and Sunshine Tour, this South African event was new to the schedule in 2022. Taking place at the Pecanwood Golf and Country Club to the west of Pretoria, the tournament was set to be known simply as the Pecanwood Classic, but a late change saw the adoption of the MyGolfLife Open title. Spaniard Pablo Larrazábal was the winner of that inaugural event, seeing off countryman Adri Arnaus and English player Jordan Smith in a playoff.

The Jack Nicklaus-designed course lies on the banks of the Hartbeespoort Dam and features wide welcoming fairways unlikely to cause too many problems from the tee. As such, this is a course open to being attacked by the biggest hitters in the game but does emphasize second-shot accuracy and general approach play. The Bentgrass greens feature rounded edges and runoff areas and are well protected by bunkers and water hazards.

Past Winners

Year Course Winner
2022 Muthaiga Golf Club Pablo Larrazabal

2022: Pablo Larrazabal

Pablo Larrazabal came through a three-way playoff to win the MyGolfOpen for his sixth win on the DP World Tour. The popular Spaniard had to fight it out with Adri Arnaus and Jordan Smith over two holes of a playoff at Muthaiga Golf Club to claim a hard-earned win.

The extra drama was great news for the South African fans who turned up to see Muthaiga host a DP World Tour event for the first time. It wasn’t such good news for golf fans from further afield as the tournament was unfortunately not televised but the highlights paint a picture of Larrazabal having to delve deep into his technical and mental strength to win.

Larrazabal was by no means the favourite coming into the final round. He started two shots behind 54-hole leader Hennie Du Plessis on Sunday and knew that he’d have to come up with something special on a golf course that was providing little resistance. He got that something special early on with three birdies in his first five holes while Du Plessis found the pressure of winning on home soil a bit too much. The pressure also got to Larrazabal late one as he bogeyed the 17th hole to let Smith and Arnaus back into it but he gathered himself admirably to win in extra holes.