Presidents Cup Past Winners & Results By Year

Traditionally taking place in September, this biennial team event pits the USA against The Rest of the World minus Europe – the European golfers of course getting their crack at the US in the historic Ryder Cup. The title of the event stems from the fact that each edition of the tournament has an honorary chairman, who will always be either a current or former President/Prime Minister.

Comprising two teams of 12 players, the tournament follows a very similar format to the Ryder Cup, featuring foursomes and fourballs, before 12 singles matches on the closing day. The event is played on a best of 30 points basis, with one point awarded for each matchup win, and half a point for a tie.

The location for the tournament alternates between the USA and a “Rest of the World” destination, with Australia, South Africa, Canada, and South Korea among the nations to have hosted the event. Team USA was almost utterly dominant in the early editions, winning 12 of the first 14 Presidents Cups and tying in another, with their only loss coming in 1998.

Past Winners

Year Course Winner
2022 Quail Hollow Club United States

2022: United States

In the end, the 2022 Presidents Cup was not the blow out that many thought it would be. Indeed, there was a spell during the Sunday singles that American fans were genuinely concerned. An International team who had grown to their task and had no problem playing up to the galleries in North Carolina got off to a strong start on Sunday but ultimately the result went the way of the home team by a 17½ 12½ score line.

There were some incredible American performances at Quail Hollow. Jordan Spieth, who had been struggling for so long with his game, won all five of his matches; Max Homa was able to carry on his excellent recent form to go 4-0 on debut; and, each of Justin Thomas, Patrick Cantlay, Tony Finau, Xander Schauffele and Collin Morikawa lost just one match. Perhaps things are not so bright for Donald and his young Europeans after all!

It will, however, be the Internationals, so well marshalled by captain, Trevor Immelmann, who will be most remembered from the 2022 Presidents Cup. Si-Woo Kim won three matches, Sungjae Im took on each of his opponents with the aggressive golf that we’ve become used to from him, and Tom Kim became the unofficial cheerleader. It is to the Americans’ credit that they earned a strong lead early on and then rolled with the punches over the weekend for a well-earned victory but it’s to the tournament’s credit that it all ended with an enormous party with players and caddies from both teams.